Tryškiai Church of the Holy Trinity was built in 1751 on the initiative of the priest Burneika; however, later it was rebuilt more than once. At the end of the 19th century, the Church was extended, the main facade was altered. In 1928, a new tower was built. A monumental Church of moderate expression represents folk stylistics of Samogitian churches. The Church has a form of the Latin cross, three naves with a transept, side vestries and three-wall apse. Built on a tall socle of broken field stones, walls of cut-hewed logs are boarded vertically with planks covering the joints of the boards. The profiled cornice of the eaves surrounds the parameter of the Church. The slanting tin roof ends in a jerkinhead in the main façade. Somewhat lower transepts are covered with gable roofs, the vestries are covered with mono-pitched roofs and the apse is covered with the roofs of three sloping sides. A small quadrilateral turret with small eyebrow windows, small pediments and multi-faceted spire, which is a little recessed, looms at the junction of the transept and the nave. Onion pedestals with crosses are placed on the transepts and the verges of the presbytery and the main façade. The only ornate element of the main façade is a broad pent roof. A wide stairway and two-leaved door boarded in a rhomboidal pattern with a narrow bay window of three glass parts lead to the Church of the Holy Trinity of Tryškiai. Over the pent roof there is a wide quadrangular window. Other windows of the Church are also divided into small rectangular forms.

The interior is three-naved with lower chapels of the transept. The prodomos is walled off, the choir space over it is with balconies supported by columns. The most valuable element of the interior is the side altar of the Blessed Virgin Mary of the Scapular. This is a baroque altar of the 17th century decorated with openwork vine columns and wide wings of openwork plant décor framing the sculptures of the Saints.

The ensemble of the Church of the Holy Trinity can boast of one of the most unique belfries surviving in the region. The belfry inserted in the fence of the Church was built in the 18th century and had features of baroque and classicism. It is of a tall rectangular volume with an extended lower part; the upper part is adorned with a double arcade and the cornice of a dentil décor. Segmental arcades are carved, the upper part ends in a pyramid capping covered with shingle with an onion pedestal with a cross. The churchyard is surrounded by a stone wall with 14 brick chapel Stations of the Cross. The main three-part red brick gate is with segmental arches. Tall poles of the gate have pyramid tin capping. Planes with decorative arch holes are built between them.



360° Virtual Tour



  • Address: M. Valančiaus g. 6
  • State/county: Telšiai district
  • Country: Lithuania